Review: Slamdunked by Love by Jamie Wesley

27777358Publisher: Entangled Publishing, Lovestruck Imprint

Release Date: 12/14/2015

Series: One-on-One, #2

Pages: 196 pages

An ARC was provided by publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. (acknowledging how late my full review is…)

**Slamdunked by Love is ON SALE NOW for just 99¢!!**

I am SO OBSESSED with this book!! I had been in somewhat of a contemporary romance reading slump when I had the opportunity to read an advanced copy of Slamdunked by Love, and I’m so glad it was this book that fell into my hands! It had been forever since I read a sports romance, so this really hit the spot.

Caitlin Monroe is our heroine, and she’s ready to get a little revenge. But don’t worry, it’s not a case of our heroine being immature (at least not totally)! She’s lived with a lot of hurt inside of her because of the careless way her MIA father treated her, her twin brother, and her mother. So, the revenge is somewhat justified…I think. Anyways, Caitlin is ready to set her plan in motion when she runs into a little bit of car trouble. As in her car completely dies. Enter the tall and sexy Brady Hudson!

Out of the kindness of his heart (or out of his resistance to attending the work gala) Brady pulls up behind Caitlin’s car and comes a knockin’ on her window. The chemistry is apparent right from the start–even when they’re talking about the possibility of Brady being a serial killer. So funny! Of course, Caitlin instantly recognizes Brady as one of the NBA’s biggest players–one of the players that was recently transferred to the professional basketball team that her MIA father coaches. DUNDUNDUN. Talk about fate.

Brady and Caitlin are heading to the same gala–so they hitch a ride together (Brady to the rescue!). There is no immediate confrontation with Caitlin’s father. That actually doesn’t happen for a while, but what does happen is that Caitlin and Brady find themselves thrown into a whirlwind of a fake relationship. Thank the individual that sent a photo of Caitlin and Brady smoochin’ to the media because it would be a shame if they weren’t forced into this comical situation!!

Brady benefits from the relationship because it sheds a more positive light on him. He had been painted as the crazy, irresponsible player in the media when he is really just misunderstood. WHY MEDIA? WHY?! Can’t you see that he’s perfect (if there were such a thing)??? Caitlin benefits because it offers her a chance to get dirt on the father that hurt her (her father doesn’t know who she is since he abandoned the family when she was so young), and I was like “Okay, Caitlin…I’m not sure if this is a good idea, but I’ll buckle up and come along for the ride.”

The big question: Can Brady and Caitlin build a real relationship out of a fake relationship that was started with purely selfish reasons in mind?

I LOVE Caitlin and Brady. The witty banter, pirate jokes (Seriously, I died at this point. Stupid jokes are my favorite jokes.), genuine affection, red velvet cake–it’s all great. The friendship that developed between our two MCs was probably my favorite aspect of this story. AND OH MY GOSH. That video chat scene–SO FREAKING HOT. Like seriously off the charts sexy! I mean, in reality, I would question the privacy of that encounter because there are some creepy hacks out there, but I just freaking loved it in this book.

I’m super hopeful that Caitlin’s twin brother gets his own story. He came across as really cute (in a totally adult man way), and I feel like there is still so much to see since the family dynamic has changed now that Caitlin confronted their father. My heart felt for her in that moment.

Highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend Slamdunked by Love for all romance lovers! There are so many little things for everyone to love. Not only did the story feature a fantastic meet cute followed by a great trope, but the humor was constantly present and right up my alley!

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | GOODREADS | AUTHOR’S WEBSITE

***

At the risk of sounding preachy, I want to mention that I had been working on a task recently that involved researching diverse romance bloggers, and I have to say, I don’t understand why there aren’t more bloggers who review diverse romances. I’m sorry that it took me this long to read a romance where the main characters are of color. Skin color, ethnicity, etc. in no way impacts the story. The romance is just as epic, which is exactly the way it should be! So, as readers/reviewers we should seek out diverse romances more often! *End of preachy preachy time*

2 thoughts on “Review: Slamdunked by Love by Jamie Wesley

Leave a Reply

