Top Ten Tuesday (7)

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week, we have a Halloween themed freebie. What does that mean? It means that it’s your choice (ie. 10 best ghost stories, 10 things that scare you in books, 10 literary Halloween costumes, 10 vampire novels, 10 books that WILL scare you, 10 non-scary books for Halloween, 10 scariest covers, etc.)!

I totally meant to publish this post earlier…whoops. Anyways, I’m really only into Halloween because of the candy and the movies. But in an effort to make this list book-related, I’m going to give you theΒ top five (I can’t think of 10 😩) scary movies I have seen that were inspired by books (in noΒ particular order).


  1. Misery by Stephen King

Miseryfilm Stephen_King_Misery_cover

Obviously, Stephen King is “King” of the horror genre. So, it’s only right that his books are done justice when it comes to creating film versions of them. How do you ensure that? By giving Kathy Bates a knife, of course!

2. The Shining by Stephen King

11588 the-shining-1980-poster

Red rum. Red rum. (Imagine me saying that in a creepy child voice.) I love this movie only because it scares the shit out of my sister (and she hasn’t even watched it) because she is in the hotel industry.

3. Psycho by Robert Bloch

Psycho_(1960) psycho

I kind of feel obligated to put this book-turned-film on my list because it’s a classic. So, yeah. That’s why it’s on my list. Otherwise, I found myself very bored with Psycho the one and only time I watched it. Maybe I was too young to truly appreciate it.

4. The Birds by Daphne Du Maurier

4119497376_363750d10a Vintage Publicity Posters for The Birds (1)

Alfred Hitchcock is no joke, and I am TERRIFIED of birds. Only God knows why I own a parrot (it was my 7-year-old self’s dream to own a parrot…strange. I know.).

5. I Am Legend by Richard Matheson

220px-IAmLegend25028 large_gqCUdm7lWbFgSzewW3pgKAJvUhj

Not your typical horror film. Hope/rebirth is very much a theme in the film, but if those diseased, no-longer human things came after me and killed by dog, I would shit my pants and then become very angry about the mess in my pants and the fact that they killed my dog (did I take that too far? Sorry…).

Leave a Reply

