Review: Falling for the PI by Victoria James

falling for the PI

Publisher: Bliss Imprint, Entangled Publishing

Release Date: 08/10/2015

Series: Still Harbor Series #1

Pages: 142 (ebook)

Whenever Victoria James comes out with a new book, I HAVE TO HAVE IT. And because I possess a lack of restraint, I usually finish the book within a couple of hours. Then I mentally kick myself for bringing the reading to a boil instead of a nice simmer. Okay, that was weird. That cooking water analogy makes no sense. What can I say? Falling for the PI has my brain on the fritz. All I meant was that I get really sad when I finish the book so fast because then the magic is kind of gone–until the next one in the series comes out (or at least until I can bring myself to pick up another book).

Anyways, Falling for the PI was exactly what I needed in a read. The novel was extremely fresh, and it gave me all the feels. Not only does it hit all of the points a good romance should, but the book addresses domestic violence, single mom adoptions, abuse of authority, and special needs kids. SCORE. That probably sounds like a lot to tackle in a 142 page book, but in my opinion, it is tastefully done.

You see, Kate Abbott and her sisters moved to Still Harbor for a fresh start. They may not be sisters by blood but they’re sisters in the ways that count. They promised each other a long time ago that because they know what being without a family is like, they would adopt a child in need. So, that’s what they did. Each of them now have daughters of their own, and their fresh start is going well. They’re employed; they’re a family; and they’re happy.

Kate is really happy, but her distrust of cops is always at the back of mind. Although, her fear is brought to the forefront when she realizes that the gorgeous Matt Lane (who she just danced with) is a former cop turned PI. Matt feels this strong pull whenever he is around Kate, and he cannot stand to see the haunted look in her eye. He slowly tries to prove to Kate that she can trust him. How does he do that? By being the totally sweet and kissable Mr. Zibbits (the name is an inside joke in the book).

I LOVED Matt’s interaction with Janie, Kate’s six-year-old daughter. Janie is a special needs child with Down’s syndrome, but to Matt and Kate, she is just a normal, sweet, and sharp little girl. The pink unicorn in the glasses scene? JUST STOP. I can’t take the cuteness. It’s not often that special needs children are written into novels, so I didn’t know what to expect. But seeing that I have a special needs cousin, I really appreciated Victoria James shedding light on the fact that special needs individuals are very, very smart. They are people just like anyone else. Also, I really got a kick out of the relationship between Matt and his younger sister Sabrina. SO FUNNY–especially since Kate is one of Sabrina’s high school teachers. That creates all kinds of joyful awkwardness.

Of course, the heart of this story deals with domestic abuse. Both Matt and Kate had a horrible childhood due to domestic abuse. Matt became the protector and Kate became the runner. It’s understandable why they would take on those roles. Matt had a sister and mother to protect, and Kate was young and alone with no one that would believe her. I’d sure as heck have a hard time dealing with the past, too. But once she is forced to deal with it (I won’t spoil the “IT”), Kate is pretty kickass. Still, she is no longer alone, so she isn’t forced to deal with it all by herself. Matt swears he will protect her and Janie always.

So, this all probably sounds pretty heavy, but trust me, the light moments outweigh the dark moments. I probably haven’t done the novel justice at all. I can’t wait for the sisters’ stories and to hear more about Kate’s new family! On a final note, where the heck can I get me some poutine?!! Do I have to move to Canada?? Each character stole a little piece of my heart with their fry obsession. #friesbeforeguys

2 thoughts on “Review: Falling for the PI by Victoria James

Leave a Reply

